Keeping busy.

It’s really amazing how many things you can do when you don’t have anything to do at all.

  1. Window shopping consumes 75% of my time. I spend inordinate, unhealthy amounts of time in various stores, carrying around armloads of sundresses and floaty tees, trying them on and then leaving without purchasing anything. I’m able to indulge my materialism without actually following through. Sometimes I let myself slip, but only if it’s on sale and exceptionally cute.
  2. It takes me a long time to leave the house. I’ll take a shower and then sit on the couch in my towel for an hour, half-heartedly applying for jobs and talking to my employed friends on IM. Then I’ll put on underwear. Selecting an outfit to wear when you’re going to be out of the house for a maximum of 2 hours is enormously time-consuming. There are so many options! So many clean shirts, waiting to be worn. I blow dry my hair every day like I’m going on a date. Sometimes I wear makeup for NO REASON. You never know.
  3. The library is a place of wonder, joy and pure excitement. Hours. I lose hours in the San Francisco public library. Discovering the DVD section caused me to come home with a variety of awkward and hilarious documentary selections including one about the musical theatre camp in upstate New York and a docuumentary called Shvitz, about the last remaining bathhouse in Coney Island. Broadening my horizons, kids.
  4. I avoid doing things I actually need to do. These include visiting the unemployment office, grocery shopping and calling my student loan company to put my loans into forbearance.
  5. I walk a lot more. I’m in no rush! Where am I going? Nowhere! Walk downtown! Walk to the bus! Walk up that pesky hill you usually don’t walk up ever, while smoking a cigarette and talking on the phone! Take your time. It’s a nice day out and you have no obligations to anyone.
  6. I do a lot of lunch. I am an excellent lunch date. I will gladly meet you near your place of employment, eat a sandwich and talk shop with you. It makes me feel like a part of the workforce and I can offer advice. I’m an excellent yes-man, except when I’m being a cock. Usually I’m not a cock. Tell me your troubles. I like feeling like a person.

I’ll get a job soon.

    Leave a comment